April Favourites 2016

I can’t believe it’s the end of April, before we know it we’ll be halfway through the year. For me, this month has mainly been spent working on my dissertation, and my other final assignments, as we get closer and closer to the end of the academic year. So, that means a lot of my favourites are either yummy snacks/drinks (which are essential for a productive day of study) or that they are related to stress relief. This also means I haven’t had much time to read this month, although I did manage to finish reading A Game of Thrones by George R.R.Martin and you can see my review for this here. Anyway, on with my April favourites

Naked Smoothies 

One of the things I have loved this month is Naked Smoothies (or Juice). Basically, they’re just blended fruit/veg with vitamins, so they are really healthy and delicious. Since I’ve been working on my dissertation pretty much every day at university, these have been a yummy refreshment during the day. So far I’ve tried the Green Machine, the Blue Machine, and the Red Machine. Pictured below is the Green Machine, which contains apple, kiwi, banana, pineapple, and mango, as well as broccoli, spinach, and wheat grass.

Naked Smoothies

Raw Carrot and Houmous

As a snack during my days of study I’ve been loving houmous with raw carrot sticks. It is so tasty, whilst being healthy at the same time. I’ve tried a few different flavours of houmous, as well as the original version, included red pepper, sweet chilli, pesto and caramelised onion. I would usually have this as a snack and then have a sandwich or bagel in the middle of the day to keep up my energy levels.

Carrot and Houmous

TV: American Horror Story

In the past few weeks I have been watching American Horror Story on Netflix. Even throughout all these hours of study, it is very important to have a break. Although we may tell ourselves that right now isn’t the best time to be getting addicted to shows on Netflix (and it may not be okay to watch 10 episodes in a day), it is nevertheless more productive in the long-run to have some down time. So far I have watched all of season one, which was about a haunted house, and I am currently about half way into season two, which is based in a mental asylum. Some of the actors and actresses appear in all the seasons as different characters, such as Jessica Lange and Evan Peters.

American Horror Story

Music: Ariana Grande

“…I don’t need to live by your rules, until you’ve walked a mile in my shoes…” – AG

The other day my sister and I were talking about what fun stuff we can do over the summer. My sister mentioned she would love to see someone in concert, because it is something she has never done before. I saw Taylor Swift’s Red Tour in 2013 and we discussed seeing her again, as she is my favourite artist of all time. Then we also thought of Ariana Grande and I had listened to a few of her songs, but I didn’t know many. So, after this conversation I downloaded two of her albums, Yours Truly and My Everything, and I’ve just fallen completely in love. Some of my favourite songs include You Don’t Know Me and Piano.

Ariana Grande Album

Books: A Game of Thrones and The Calm Book

So, as I’ve said I finally finished A Game of Thrones by George R.R.Martin. It was a huge book, hence why I’ve spent so much time reading it whilst trying to get my work done too. It was definitely worth it though and you can read more of my thoughts in my review (linked above). Secondly, I also purchased the Calm Book by Michael Acton Smith and Alex Tew. I’ve been loving this book as well as the app, so you can also read my review for it here.

So, that’s about it for April. On Sunday we begin a whole new month (which also happens to be the month that my dissertation is due!), so I’m sure it will be a busy one! Let me know what you have been loving this month in the comments. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

