Film Review: Me Before You

On Friday I went to see Me Before You at the cinema. It is a romantic drama based on a book by Jojo Moyes. I only got halfway through the book but it didn’t really grip me enough to finish it completely. It was an enjoyable read but not the genre I usually go for. I would still recommend it as a good adult romance read. I really liked the film adaptation which stayed very true to the book.

Title: Me Before You

Director: Thea Sharrock

Series: N/A

Release Date: 03/06/2016

Genre: Drama, Romance

Me Before You is about a fun-loving and creative young girl called Louisa Clark (Emilia Clarke) who is under pressure to find a new job to support her family. She takes a position as a helping hand to a quadriplegic man named Will Traynor (Sam Claflin) and becomes more tied up in his life than she ever could’ve imagined.

First of all I just have to say how much I love Emilia Clarke. She portrays Louisa’s character so perfectly and just seems like the sweetest person. Lou is a lively, chatty character who wears clothes that are pretty out-there, but she manages to pull them off. She is like a huge ray of sunshine in Will’s life and I think that comes across really effectively in the film.

It is a new kind of role for Sam Claflin as he is usually quite an upbeat or funny character. Will’s state of mind in Me Before You is very complex and I feel that Claflin effectively portrays the character. It is difficult trying to understand Will’s decision and to forgive him for not feeling like Lou’s love is enough for him to want to stay alive. A part of me does understand his decision, although I couldn’t help my heart-breaking for Lou and Will’s family.

I felt that the first half or so was very much like the book and it kind of felt like the actors were just stepping through the motions of the characters. However, by the end I felt more like they had become the characters. But, you may not think that without reading it. I found the scene on the beach to be very powerful, definitely had to hold myself together on that one.

However, the first time I actually welled up was when Lou and Will had their first kiss. The film portrayed an emotional sense of foreboding and it hit me that these two people may not be able to stay together forever, and even if they did, they wouldn’t live the life of an ordinary couple. And that was pretty heart-breaking.

I guess I am kinda a sucker for romance films – and the highlight for me has to be Emilia Clarke’s wonderful portrayal of Lou. She is so funny and heart-warming to watch and she brings the film to life.

If you’ve recently seen Me Before You please let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

3 Comments

  1. Great review! I definitely want to see the film, but I’m someone who likes to read the novel first. And it’s been on my shelf for awhile 🙈 Your review made me want to pick it up even more, so I can go see the adaption! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Great to hear I’ve made you even more excited to read it 🙂 I’m about half way through the book now! Would love to hear what you think of the book and film when you get to them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

