Fave YA Romances

Hello lovely people. Today is St. Valentine’s Day and I actually really like this day. I wanted to do a Valentine’s Day blog post and what better than to talk about love stories. More specifically, love stories in young adult (YA) books!

I’ve read a lot of YA books and in amongst my vast collection is a fair amount of contemporary/romance stories, from the great John Green to the marvellous Gayle Forman. I’ll try not to let all the books in this list include tragic heartbreak; regardless, all of them have their lighthearted, bubbly moments that are exactly what people look for in love stories. 

So, without further ado, let’s get started with the list (you may have to bare with me as it’ll take me a while to chose from my pile). In fact, I’m that bad at deciding favourites I’m not even going to put these in any kind of order. I just hope if you’re looking to find something romantic to read this Valentine’s Day, you’ll find inspiration here.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss is actually 1 of 3 books in a companion trilogy. I’m sure you will find yourself reading the second two books in this series, Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After, if you read this one. They’re just silly adorable and their positivity will leave you with the biggest smile! 

The books in a companion trilogy involve different characters but interlink in some way. Anna and the French Kiss is about a girl who moves from America to go to school in Paris. Anna doesn’t want to leave her best friend, Bridgette, and her crush, Toph, at home – but she might just find something even better waiting in France


The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

This is probably one of my favourite books I’ve read since I got into YA. It is a very upsetting story, but the main focus of it is the happiness and love shared between the two main characters: Hazel and Gus

John Green tells the story of two teenagers battling cancer. Hazel meets Gus at a cancer support group and they become friends. They live their lives to the fullest together. Whilst facing one of lives the greatest fears, they are find the one thing in life that is most precious. 

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

If I Stay is the story of a 17-year-old girl who suffers the loss of her family in a tragic car accident. She is left in a coma. Whilst in the coma, Mia has an out-of-body experience and must decide whether to stay and live a very different life to the one she thought she would have.

This is more than a love story, but Mia’s relationship with her boyfriend, Adam, is a central part of the story. We find out how they met and fell in love; a most unlikely pair. Mia relives past memories when she is in a coma and by the end of the story we feel the deep connection between Mia and her love for music, her love for Adam, and her everlasting love for family. 

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

I’ll be honest, it has been a while since I read this so I don’t remember all of it, but I do remember I loved it. We’re getting back into the more happy-go-lucky, lighthearted books now. 

Since You’ve Been Gone is about a girl named Emily whose wild, devil-may-care best friend Sloane mysteriously disappears. She leaves the reserved and careful Emily a list of things to do whilst she’s gone. Kiss a stranger, go skinny dipping, dance until dawn – a lot of firsts for Emily. She makes it her mission to complete the list – with the help of Frank, the perfect guy. 

I also love Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson – if you happen to enjoy this one.

Paper Towns by John Green

I mean considering I have a quote from it tattooed on my foot it had to be there. I absolutely adore the story in Paper Towns. I’d say it’s a story about love, but more with a focus on the love between friends and the possibility of making things happen.

It’s about a boy called Quentin or ‘Q‘ who used to be really good friends with Margo, the ‘girl next door,’ when they were kids. As they grew up their friendship faded, until one night Margo appears and asks for Q to help her innact revenge on her friends who have wronged her. The next day Margo is gone. Q sets out to find the mysterious girl he cares for through the clues she leaves behind – which involves a road trip, old friends and new friends, and some bittersweet realisations. 

And there you have it. Those are some really great YA love stories that I’ve read and loved. Let me know which ones you’ve read and whether you enjoyed them, or if you are planning on reading any of them. And, of course, have a lovely Valentine’s Day and tell those you love that you love them! Bye for now x 

Leave a Reply

