Into The Water by Paula Hawkins

I haven’t written a book post in a while and I’m very pleased I’ve got back into reading lately. I finished reading Into The Water by Paula Hawkins today, well-known for her recent hit The Girl On The Train which was made into a really great film. I can’t comment on whether her second book beats it because I never actually read The Girl On The Train (oh the regrets of having watched the film first) but I can comment on Into The Water. There will be no spoilers in this post.

This book became more and more intriguing to me as I read it. In most books you have to be slightly patient whilst the scene is being set and thankfully Hawkins favours short chapters and flicks between multiple narrators. At first I had to get to grips with who was who but I really liked the different perspectives and characters.

Hawkin’s second standalone thriller

The mystery keeps you on your toes throughout. Hawkins is great at writing small town mysteries but with huge characters. I felt like I could imagine them all and their surroundings. I don’t know if it’s because I saw the film, but I feel like it has a very similar vibe to The Girl On The Train which I don’t see as a bad thing. I love the gloomy, grey-toned atmosphere I imagined and the characters: confused, hurt or simply messed up. And you don’t know who’s who until the end.

There are some hard topics dealt with in Into The Water. From the plot summary you can hopefully decide whether this book is for you. I would definitely recommend reading it if you enjoyed The Girl On The Train

I’d love to know which one you think is better. I hope they will also eventually make Into The Water into a film too? 

Leave a Reply

